top of page
  • 495902

#Week 15- New look for the buildings! (LGs 2,3)

Bijgewerkt op: 24 jan.

STARR Method

Learning goals worked on: Creating trim sheet textures in Substance Designer (2), and setting modules for efficient texturing using trim sheets and tileable materials (3).

Research methodology used: Practice-based research

All of the research that I have conducted during this week is based on a practice-based approach. It's essentially a trial-and-error process where I try out my existing knowledge (basic understanding of trim textures and how they work) and try to apply it to a new scenario ( create a trim sheet texture and apply it to the house and necessity buildings).

In the case of this week, I was working out the trim sheet textures in iterations. I would create 1 texture and immediately map it onto the corresponding mesh in Maya and preview the result in Unreal and repeat the process until I finished the trim texture. I did this since I was not sure if the result would be correct and wanted to avoid having to redo large amounts of work if something was not right. Most of the time, I would experiment and work with my current knowledge and research a specific issue if I encountered something new to me. I really like this approach of working since it delivers fast results in the sense of 'live connection', quickly showing if something works or not.

Situation:

The building modules that I have previously modelled, need to be textured. For this, I planned on using a combination of trimsheet texture and tileable materials that I have been working on for the past few weeks. Task: Texture the modular pieces for the house buildings using a trimsheet and tileable textures. Action: The first step was to finish off the trim sheet texture that I started. Before I started, though, I did some research about how other people approached working with trim textures and things to look out for and avoid. I found really useful video tutorials and also posts that went in detail about planning and rough layout, early testing, and working with UVs . Once I felt comfortable and had good understanding of the topic, I worked on it step by step- create a texture piece, apply it to the model and test it out in Unreal Engine. This way, I made sure to keep somewhat of consistent texel density across different models which is a drawback of using trimsheet textures when texturing. Planning the needed space for each texture was also easier that way since I didn't have to guess and find out in the end that a texture was too small and needed adjustments. I also found really useful resources which showed me how to use Substance Designer when making trim sheet textures and keep them rather flexible, which sped up my work significantly (Figure 01).

Figure 01: Trimsheet texture, used to texture big part of the buildings

With the trimsheet done, I moved to Maya and applied the texture to all of the modules of the house buildings. Since the viewport in Maya is inaccurate of the final look, I was immediately sending the models in Unreal and previewing them there. I was constantly going back and forth between the two programs, testing and making adjustments. However, because of that, I managed to iterate further on the trimsheet. Some textures were missing details and appeared flat, there I added some necessary details meanwhile in some other places I toned down the details.


Results:

The end result of Week 15 was finished trimsheet texture which was used for texturing the house buildings (Figures 02, 03 and 04).



Figures 02, 03 and 04: All of the modules now have textures, combination of tileable and trim sheet textures


Reflection:

Up until this point, this was the most challenging task that I have been working on, because it involved a lot of planning, different software and doing something that I have very little experience with. Working on the trimsheet really helped me broaden my knowledge of texturing environmental assets, how size relates to texel density and how to manipulate UVs to better fit given texture. I also learnt how to work with Substance Designer more in-depth, which is a must-know software for every environment artist. I can say that now I am more comfortable with creating all kinds of textures and applying them to any model.

Of course, there is still more to be desired from my planning, since I made some last minute changes, which made me switch some concepts around and this resulted in slower pace of work.

40 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Comments


bottom of page