top of page
  • Foto van schrijverMaria Jardan

#Week 3 (DTC update)

Bijgewerkt op: 30 sep. 2023

Developing on previous tasks


When introducing the previous week's research findings to my team, the team leader suggested me to include an "Effectiveness" description under each promotion method used by the cities trying to promote the idea of a 15 minutes city. I considered it a good idea and implemented it in the document since it would allow us to focus on more effective inspirations. This required additional desk research to be done.

 

Concept


After the individual research outcomes were discussed within the team, we decided to prepare for a group brainstorming session by developing individual concepts for the project. I used a digital mind map as an individual brainstorming tool. I started by developing on 2 parts:

  1. Ideas from other 15min cities' promotion methods/Digital Twins that could be implemented or adapted to our product (taken from the research document I worked on the previous week)

  2. What we know we certainly need from this project for ourselves

In addition, I was asking myself questions such as:

  • How can the product be as inclusive as possible? (the client wants the target audience to be as wide as possible in order to make the project more inclusive)

  • How can we make the product more personal to the user? (the client put a lot of emphasis on making a product that would allow the user to understand how choices regarding urban planning impact him/her)

The previous steps inspired me to come up with 2 concepts:

  1. Decision taking game (Average Dutch Simulator)

  2. Urban planner simulator

 

Key aspects of each concept:


Decision taking game (Average Dutch Simulator)

  • The user plays as a citizen of a city

  • His/her character has to complete a daily routine

  • Meanwhile, the user gets question pop-ups in which he/she needs to choose between urban planning policies

  • The decisions directly influence the health/surroundings of the character

Urban planner Simulator

  • The user plays as an urban planner of a city

  • There is a crowd being simulated in that city representing the citizens of that city

  • The player needs to keep the citizens healthy/content by adjusting the infrastructure

*For a more in depth description of each concept, as well as advantages/disadvantages and related suggestions see below mind map

I presented the concepts during a team meeting and from all the presented ideas by me and the other team members we created 3 categories (Simulation; Decision-based; City builder) for the possible concepts that we presented to the client during our second meeting.


 


Learning


This week, alongside tasks suggested by the team, I was also focusing on working on my learning goals, specifically on procedural geometry generation within Houdini. I completed the first week of a 10-week course that I am following. Since I am a complete Houdini beginner, this helped me to get accustomed with the software and to learn theory about some basic concepts such as nodes, parameters and attributes.


 

Additional


At this point there were a few misunderstandings in the studio related to the course rubrics and grading. Under this circumstances, after discussing with my team leader, I decided to share in the studio Discord server a grade breakdown for the course that I made for myself, so as to help clarifying what the grade consist of.






14 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven

Opmerkingen


bottom of page