top of page
  • 495902

# Week 9

In Week 9 I mainly focused on modeling the rest of the 'necessity' buildings that we are going to need for our game. This is because the models of the houses might need to be adjusted after a discussion with Maria.

School Necessity

The school necessity was next on the list. I did some visual research on schools in Utrecht since that was the city we tried to recreate. I quickly created a blockout model to test scale first since we wanted the necessities to stand out from the house models in terms of size. I came across an issue with the overall scale of the tiles- they were too small to fit in a 'necessity' building. So after some discussions and tests, we went for double the size of the tile (20 meters). After feedback from the designer, I finalized the school necessity and moved to the next one- the hospital.



Hospital Necessity

For the hospital necessity, I wanted the silhouette of the building to be immediately recognizable, even from a distance. It was easier to work since I have figured out the scale from the previous necessity buildings. In this model, I reused a lot of parts and mirrored them to cut down the amount of work now and later on.





Texture Atlas

The next thing was the making of texture atlas. We want to texture large portion of the buildings using a texture atlas as this would greatly optimize and improve the performance of the game. Fo this, I plan on putting all of the windows and doors in all of the buildings within the game in a single texture which would be reused extensively. For this I am using the geometry I modelled in Maya and bake it onto flat plane in Substance Painter where I create the textures.



WIP of the texture atlas, applied to the windows of the hospital necessity

10 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Comments


bottom of page