top of page
  • Talitha ten Hagen

Blog Week 11: Blueprint Shader

Situation: Create a blueprint shader. Task:

  • The Blueprint Shader fits the art style of our game; has to overlay states: can (1) and cannot (2) place.

  • The shader exists out of 3 parts:

    • 1. blueprint material for the building: to indicate the building is yet to be placed;

    • 2. mesh + material under the building: to indicate the grid for the building;

    • 3. fresnel/hologram material: an overlay material to indicate the state, which are can (1) and cannot (2) place.

Activities: First, I started with the fresnel material. I applied it as a material, since I did not know how to apply it as an overlay material.



Then I looked into outline and wireframe shader (I found out these are not the same). After that, I created a base for the grid shader. I did not know how to combine the blueprint material with the grid material. Besides, I did not get the desired result for the wireframe material.



I needed help with the blueprint material, since I could not get the desired result. I asked help from a peer who helped me get the grid material as a blueprint material.

Besides, I worked on the main menu UI elements at the hand of the provided wireframe of Max.


Progress was made, until I deleted all progress. The materials needed to be made from scratch. I was able to remade the blueprint material.


Result: I was able to create a basic blueprint shader with an overlay glow and grid underneath.



Reflection: It took me around 3 days to create a basic blueprint shader. I ran into quite some problems and questions. I could solve most of them myself but this took a lot of time. At some point I asked for help, which helped a bunch. Then I accidentally but stupidly deleted all my progress and had to recreate the shader in 2 hours. We had a deadline that day. For a next time, I know not to press 'Force Delete'. Next Monday I want to focus on the visual aspect of the shader.

8 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven

Comments


bottom of page