top of page
  • Talitha ten Hagen

Blog week 8: Modeling 'Domtoren'

Bijgewerkt op: 25 jan.

Situation: Model the first landmark for the prototype, the Domtoren; work on UI elements provided by the designer(s).


Task: Have the landmark done within 2 days.


Activities:

Discover: In the concept phase of the group research, I researched landmarks in the Netherlands (See Figure 1). In this phase, it was unclear where the proof of concept would be situated in the Netherlands.

In week 8, it became clear that the city of focus would be Utrecht. I researched various landmarks of Utrecht and found that the Domtower was one of the most popular. I started working on blockouts to get the proper measurements and started modeling (See Figure 2).

Define: The blockouts were according to measurements but did not visualize the Domtower properly. I needed to have a better understanding of the architecture in order to create a model. I found a maquette reference that gave a clear understanding of the construction. It is required for the landmark to be both accurate and recognizable.


Develop: Based on provided feedback, I modeled a fourth version of the Domtower (week 8). I analyzed the maquette and references for this. I also started drawing parts I had more difficulty with to get an accurate representation.


Result: A first model was created which needs to be discussed with Filip, the other artist (See Figure 3).


Reflection: I struggled a bit with getting an accurate representation of the tower. For a next landmark, I would want to break down the model first by drawing it. In this way, I can analyze the model better. Besides, I could work more on this project but I had two subjects running at the same time, which I also needed the time for.


Figure 1: Domtower reference sheet.


Figure 2: Blockouts of Domtower.


Figure 3: Initial 3D model of the Domtower.

14 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven

Comments


bottom of page