top of page
  • 466372

Week 4

Situation:

- I explained I wanted to create tools for this project

- Concepts needed to be worked out and feasibility needed to be checked/discussed.

- There was a hackathon this week.


Task:

- Filip requested me to make a tool for Maya that would quickly move all selected objects to the origin of the scene and export them.

- I was asked to participate in the discussion, especially to talk about the plausibility of the learning goals being completed by the end of this project.

- I offered to help with the hackathon for the broadcasting project.


Action:

- I worked on the Maya Python script to create this tool. This also included learning how to use the Maya API for Python.

- I participated in the discussion and mentioned the large-scale proceduralism from my learning goals and how this could be implemented.

- I participated in the hackathon and was unavailable for this project on Thursday and Friday.


Result:

- I finished the tool for Maya and shared the Python code with the rest of the team. It only uses Python and the Maya API, so it can be used by anyone that has Maya. The tool allows you to move objects to the origin of the scene, return objects back to their original location, and export objects as an FBX to a specific location.

- There was more clarity as to how to work my learning goal into the project. There are a few ways to implement it. We decided on procedurally generating the city at the start and have smaller procedural adjustments later in terms of roads and crowd behaviour.

- I finished the hackathon with a basic concept for the assignment given to our team during the hackathon. I also did some networking.





Reflection:

- I learned more about how the Maya window creation works and how layouts are handled. The functionality of the tool was a lot easier to code than the window creation. Further Maya tool creation will go faster.

- I found out different ways to implement styles of proceduralism that I didn't think of myself. This helped me understand my learning goals more as well.

- It was a very useful experience where I learned more things about problem solving within a short time-frame. The people I worked with were very enthusiastic and that made the whole process a lot more efficient.

13 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven

Week 12

Situation: - The telemetry tool needs to be finished before the start of alpha testing Task: - Continue working on the telemetry tool and...

Комментарии


bottom of page